The Oregon Senate approved a bill yesterday that would ban smoking in cars if a child was present. Senate Bill 444 would fine first-time offenders $250, and $500 for subsequent offenses. Proponents of the bill say secondhand smoke is harmful, and minors shouldn't be subjected to it. Opponents say the state shouldn't be telling parents how to raise their children. If approved by the House and signed by Governor Kitzhaber, Oregon would join four other states with similar laws.
Return to: Medford_news Blog